Happy Fourth of July!

Saturday July 4th

Happy 4th of July to all my fellow Americans! I started my morning at 6:30 and called home. My parents had family friends over, including my dance students. I talked with them a little, reminding them to practice dance 😉 I then went on a run into the wheat fields. Right at 8 I called a friend to wish her a happy birthday (with the time difference it was midnight for her). The rest of the morning was spent cleaning my room, doing laundry, and cooking. After I finished preparing lunch I invited Joe to eat with me. Being a people’s person, I really hate eating alone.

At 7:30, Ekrem Abhi picked up Joe and me for dinner. I originally thought it would be a small dinner with Joe, Gul Abla, and Dr. Amer but soon found out that almost everyone one from lab and their families were joining us for dinner.

On the way to the restaurant Ümit Bay and his family were following us. We stopped at a store and Ümit Bay told me to get out of Ekrem Abhi’s car and join his family. He then told me I was his daughter so I had to travel with my family 🙂 I don’t think he understood how much that gesture meant to me, being away from my own family.

IMG_2496
The Fam
IMG_2498
Joe and Me
IMG_2503
Left: Sevil Hanim Middle: Sevil Hanim’s daughter Hande Right: Me
IMG_2506 - Copy
Left: Ekrem Abhi Middle: Me Right: Sevil Hanim’s daughter Hande
IMG_2510
When Joe’s sass is real

Dinner was wonderful! Gul Abla ordered a vegetarian meal and every time I thought I had gotten the entire meal, I would get more food. Though I didn’t have a completely American meal, I did have fries. It was really rewarding being able to carry a basic conversation with everyone in Turkish. I am incredibly grateful to all the lab members who are so welcoming and share a laugh with me as I struggle with the Turkish. About 3 hours later, the meal ended and I went back to the guest house for a restful night.

IMG_2513 IMG_2514 IMG_2521 IMG_2522

Leave a Reply

